New Disquietude podcast episode: music by Lesley Flanigan, Dave Seidel, KMRU, Celia Hollander, and John Hooper; interview with Flanigan; commentary; short essay on reading waveforms. • F.A.Q.Key Tags: #saw2for33third, #field-recording, #classical, #juntoElsewhere: Twitter, SoundCloud, Instagram

Listening to art. Playing with audio. Sounding out technology. Composing in code. Rewinding the soundscape.

Oval: After ‘So’ Comes ‘Oh’

Anticipation for the upcoming album by Oval, titled Oh, may be even higher among electronic-music fans and observers than was that for the recent Autechre full-length. Autechre’s Overteps followed Quaristice, its previous album, by a mere two years. Oh by Oval (aka Markus Popp) ends something along the lines of a decade-long break from commercial recording, since he put out Ovalprocess (2000) and Ovalcommers (2001) in quick succession. (In 2003 Popp and vocalist Eriko Toyada collaborated under the name So on the album So.)

Oh is due out on June 15. In the meanwhile, above is an image of the album’s cover, which appears to feature a detail of the work “from here to ear” (2007) by French artist Céleste Boursier-Mougenot, in which birds serve as nature’s own resonators as they sit atop an electric guitar. The work serves as something of a pastoral response to Christian Marclay’s famous “Guitar Drag” (in which an amplified guitar is pulled from behind a pick-up truck).

Review copies of Oval’s Oh are now circulating, and I’m reserving judgment until I have had enough time to really take in its 15 varied tracks. As with the recent Autechre album, Oval’s Oh signals a significant shift — in both cases to something more melodic, less fractured, than listeners might expect. While Autechre on Quaristice employed recognizable synthesizer sounds (in contrast with rougher tonalities of the past), Oval’s Oh often sounds like broken segments of raw recordings of a post-rock band in rehearsal. And whereas Oversteps was, to me, a serious disappointment, Oh so far is anything but.

More details on Oh, including full track listing, at the website of its releasing label,

My 1997 interview with Popp/Oval (which I was pleased to see referenced in the recent MIT Press book Cracked Media by Caleb Kelly) at

And my brief review of So, which I listed as one of the top albums of 2003, at

And speaking of Boursier-Mougenot, here is a video segment of his entrancing work “from here to ear”:

PS: An update (as of April 27). A representative at the Thrill Jockey record label provided a little more information on the album cover, and on Boursier-Mougenot’s relationship to the Oh album: “Céleste didn’t have anything to do with the music but he did provide permission to use the image as our artwork almost immediately.”

By Marc Weidenbaum

Tags: , / Comment: 1 ]

One Comment

  1. R. Reinke
    [ Posted May 20, 2010, at 9:28 am ]

    I love 94 Diskont and will be sure the check this new album out. Thanks!

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Subscribe without commenting

  • about

  • Marc Weidenbaum founded the website in 1996 at the intersection of sound, art, and technology, and since 2012 has moderated the Disquiet Junto, an active online community of weekly music/sonic projects. He has written for Nature, Boing Boing, The Wire, Pitchfork, and NewMusicBox, among other periodicals. He is the author of the 33 1⁄3 book on Aphex Twin’s classic album Selected Ambient Works Volume II. Read more about his sonic consultancy, teaching, sound art, and work in film, comics, and other media

  • Field Notes

    News, essays, surveillance

  • Interviews

    Conversations with musicians/artists/coders

  • Studio Journal

    Video, audio, patch notes

  • Projects

    Select collaborations and commissions

  • Subscribe

  • Current Activities

  • Upcoming
    • December 13, 2022: This day marks the 26th anniversary of the founding of
    • January 6, 2023: This day marked the 11th anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.

  • Recent
    • April 16, 2022: I participated in an online "talk show" by The Big Conversation Space (Niki Korth and Clémence de Montgolfier).
    • March 11, 2022: I hosted a panel discussion between Mark Fell, Rian Treanor and James Bradbury in San Francisco as part of the Algorithmic Art Assembly ( at Gray Area (
    • December 28, 2021: This day marked the 10th (!) anniversary of the Instagr/am/bient compilation.
    • January 6, 2021: This day marked the 10th (!) anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.
    • December 13, 2021: This day marked the 25th (!) anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.
    • There are entries on the Disquiet Junto in the book The Music Production Cookbook: Ready-made Recipes for the Classroom (Oxford University Press), edited by Adam Patrick Bell. Ethan Hein wrote one, and I did, too.
    • A chapter on the Disquiet Junto ("The Disquiet Junto as an Online Community of Practice," by Ethan Hein) appears in the book The Oxford Handbook of Social Media and Music Learning (Oxford University Press), edited by Stephanie Horsley, Janice Waldron, and Kari Veblen. (Details at

  • My book on Aphex Twin's landmark 1994 album, Selected Ambient Works Vol. II, was published as part of the 33 1/3 series, an imprint of Bloomsbury. It has been translated into Japanese (2019) and Spanish (2018).

  • disquiet junto

  • Background
    Since January 2012, the Disquiet Junto has been an ongoing weekly collaborative music-making community that employs creative constraints as a springboard for creativity. Subscribe to the announcement list (each Thursday), listen to tracks by participants from around the world, read the FAQ, and join in.

    Recent Projects

  • 0548 / Drone Vox / The Assignment: Make a drone using just your voice.
    0547 / Genre Melee / Combine two seemingly different genres.
    0546 / Code Notes / The Assignment: Make music that includes a secret message.
    0545 / Unself-Awareness / The Assignment: Learn from feedback intended for others.
    0544 / Feedback Loop / The Assignment: Share music-in-progress for input from others.

  • Full Index
    And there is a complete list of past projects, 548 consecutive weeks to date.

  • Archives

    By month and by topic

  • [email protected]

    [email protected]

  • Downstream

    Recommended listening each weekday

  • Recent Posts