My 33 1/3 book, on Aphex Twin's Selected Ambient Works Volume II, was the 5th bestselling book in the series in 2014. It's available at Amazon (including Kindle) and via your local bookstore. • F.A.Q.Key Tags: #saw2for33third, #sound-art, #classical, #juntoElsewhere: Twitter, SoundCloud, Instagram

Listening to art.
Playing with audio.
Sounding out technology.
Composing in code.


At this date, a symphony is simply a lengthy non-vocal composition. This one, Francis Dhomont‘s Frankenstein Symphony (Asphodel/Sombient), is stitched together from samples of music by 22 friends and students of the composer (or is it composter?). Despite the remote provenance of the source material (mostly by fellow Canadian experimentalists), this Frankenstein really comes to life. Dhomont’s affection for his sources enriches the subtle parallels, montages, and colocations that comprise the four movements.

By Marc Weidenbaum

Tags: , , / Leave a comment ]

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Subscribe without commenting