New Disquietude podcast episode: music by Lesley Flanigan, Dave Seidel, KMRU, Celia Hollander, and John Hooper; interview with Flanigan; commentary; short essay on reading waveforms. • F.A.Q.Key Tags: #saw2for33third, #field-recording, #classical, #juntoElsewhere: Twitter, SoundCloud, Instagram

Listening to art. Playing with audio. Sounding out technology. Composing in code. Rewinding the soundscape.

Six Deep MP3s

There’s a six-degrees quality to sleuthing for MP3s across the web. That’s six degrees of separation, not Six Degrees the record label. Sure, there are the standard sources for free music, among them: established record labels (Ninja Tune, Matador, etc.), netlabels (Kikapu, Stasisfield, etc.), copyright-enlightened musicians (Scanner and Matmos come to mind immediately) and the grey- and black-market mp3blogs and so-called ipodcasts, which generally post other people’s music as a kind of cultural commentary.

But far more prevalent are the caches maintained by independent, under-recognized musicians, people who post their own music and, in the process, link to colleagues who do the same. As a result, one can move from musical act to musical act, bedroom label to bedroom label, across a web of relationships that is simply and foremost a natural flowering of the sort that so-called social-network applications (Friendster, etc.), perhaps futilely, attempt to literalize. This week is one such example: Monday started with a new set of tracks from Christopher Willits (here), a laptop+guitar musician who noted the MP3s’ availability in his recent email newsletter. One of those tracks was sourced from a compilation that included an unfamiliar name, Sebastien Roux, a bit of searching for whom yielded Tuesday’s Downstream entry (here). That led, in turn, to another compilation on another label, and another unfamiliar name: an artist called Deep. Understand, of course, that for every link that yields MP3 gold, there are a half dozen searches that go nowhere and an equal number that go nowhere of interest.

As for Deep, like Willits he uses tools from rock’n’roll to make rich ambient-leaning music. On his webpage, hosted by the Dhyana record label (here), he’s posted six files. The meatiest chunk is an opaquely titled track, “Deep on ‘Flache und Raum’ (Prion Music 2003),” that makes a fantastic 20-minute voyage between the earthy digital ambience of Muslimgauze and the sludge metal of bands like Earth and SunnO))) — it’s as if you’re listening to a time-lapse recording of rebar warping slowly over a century. The shorter pieces include: the molasses-slow “8 Basses,” which may very well be that, but if so they’re playing it tighter than a fleet of Blue Angels fighter pilots; “Concombreak,” which exposes the true density of “8 Basses” by focusing on a mere two, whose lightly reverberating interplay recalls the spacious minimalism of Andy Summers’ early post-pop recordings; “Downhill,” which ups the pop quotient with a rhythm out of the Cure’s best work; “Kfz,” which pots down the pop and up the noise; and a “Sasha Mueller” remix that’s a fine bit of minimal techno done up with stroboscopic stereo effect. Download them here.

By Marc Weidenbaum

Tag: / Leave a comment ]

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Subscribe without commenting

  • about

  • Marc Weidenbaum founded the website in 1996 at the intersection of sound, art, and technology, and since 2012 has moderated the Disquiet Junto, an active online community of weekly music/sonic projects. He has written for Nature, Boing Boing, The Wire, Pitchfork, and NewMusicBox, among other periodicals. He is the author of the 33 1⁄3 book on Aphex Twin’s classic album Selected Ambient Works Volume II. Read more about his sonic consultancy, teaching, sound art, and work in film, comics, and other media

  • Field Notes

    News, essays, surveillance

  • Interviews

    Conversations with musicians/artists/coders

  • Studio Journal

    Video, audio, patch notes

  • Projects

    Select collaborations and commissions

  • Subscribe

  • Current Activities

  • Upcoming
    December 13, 2021: This day marks the 25th anniversary of the founding of
    December 28, 2021: This day marks the 10th anniversary of the Instagr/am/bient compilation.
    January 6, 2021: This day marks the 10th anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.

  • Recent
    July 28, 2021: This day marked the 500th consecutive weekly project in the Disquiet Junto music community.
    There are entries on the Disquiet Junto in the book The Music Production Cookbook: Ready-made Recipes for the Classroom (Oxford University Press), edited by Adam Patrick Bell. Ethan Hein wrote one, and I did, too.
    A chapter on the Disquiet Junto ("The Disquiet Junto as an Online Community of Practice," by Ethan Hein) appears in the book The Oxford Handbook of Social Media and Music Learning (Oxford University Press), edited by Stephanie Horsley, Janice Waldron, and Kari Veblen. (Details at

  • Ongoing
    The Disquiet Junto series of weekly communal music projects explore constraints as a springboard for creativity and productivity. There is a new project each Thursday afternoon (California time), and it is due the following Monday at 11:59pm:

  • My book on Aphex Twin's landmark 1994 album, Selected Ambient Works Vol. II, was published as part of the 33 1/3 series, an imprint of Bloomsbury. It has been translated into Japanese (2019) and Spanish (2018).

  • disquiet junto

  • Background
    Since January 2012, the Disquiet Junto has been an ongoing weekly collaborative music-making community that employs creative constraints as a springboard for creativity. Subscribe to the announcement list (each Thursday), listen to tracks by participants from around the world, read the FAQ, and join in.

    Recent Projects

  • 0511 / Freeze Tag / The Assignment: Consider freezing (and thawing) as a metaphor for music production.
    0510 / Cold Turkey / The Assignment: Record one last track with a piece of music equipment before passing it on.
    0509 / The Long Detail / The Assignment: Create a piece of music with moments from a preexisting track.
    0508 / Germane Shepard / The Assignment: Use the Shepard tone to create a piece of music.
    0507 / In DD's Key of C / The Assignment: Make music with 10 acoustic instrument samples all in a shared key.

    Full Index
    And there is a complete list of past projects, 511 consecutive weeks to date.

  • Archives

    By month and by topic

  • [email protected]

    [email protected]

  • Downstream

    Recommended listening each weekday

  • Recent Posts