New Disquietude podcast episode: music by Lesley Flanigan, Dave Seidel, KMRU, Celia Hollander, and John Hooper; interview with Flanigan; commentary; short essay on reading waveforms. • F.A.Q.Key Tags: #saw2for33third, #field-recording, #classical, #juntoElsewhere: Twitter, SoundCloud, Instagram

Listening to art. Playing with audio. Sounding out technology. Composing in code. Rewinding the soundscape.

Aaron Spectre / Drumcorps Megamix MP3

The music of Aaron Spectre, who records digitally mutilated metal under the name Drumcorps, regularly provides serrated bludgeons to the ear. And few Spectre outings are as introspective as the 20-minute mix nestled in the nearly 160MB podcast uploaded on November 14 at (MP3).

Spectre’s contribution begins approximately 45 minutes in, and after a characteristically explosive opening, it ventures deep into unfamiliar territory, a downtempo realm of cautiously spaced percussion and rank echoes. Inevitably, of course, aural nihilism rears its pixelated head, all cacophonous, splintering grindcore, set to self-immolate in Spectre’s personally circuit-bent Osterizer. While the overall effect is, certainly, more volatile than much of what appears in this Disquiet Downstream series, Spectre’s facility with digital transformation and his comfort with noise make him required listening.

The source material for the mix is as follows:

    01 – Drumcorps – No Escape – [Unreleased]
    02 – Nine Inch Nails – The Mark Has Been Made – [Nothing]
    03 – Rotten sound – The Effects – [Spinefarm]
    04 – Converge – Year Of The Swine / Conduit – [Equal Vision]
    05 – Broken Note – war In The Making – [Ruff)
    06 – Animosity – Terrorstorm – [Blackmarket)
    07 – Animosity & Drumcorps – Mobs Over, Rob Me – [Manalive]
    08 – Genghis Tron – The Feast (Drumcorps Remix) – [Unreleased test]
    09 – Genghis Tron – Relief (Drumcorps remix) – [Relapse]
    10 – This Will Destroy You – A Three-Legged Workhorse – [Magic Bullet]
    11 – Nine Inch Nails – 2 Ghosts 1 – [The Null Corporation]

More on Spectre/Drumcorps at and

On November 30, 2009, I turned off the comments on this post — for some reason it had become the target of massive spamming.

By Marc Weidenbaum

Tags: , / Comments closed ]
  • about

  • Marc Weidenbaum founded the website in 1996 at the intersection of sound, art, and technology, and since 2012 has moderated the Disquiet Junto, an active online community of weekly music/sonic projects. He has written for Nature, Boing Boing, The Wire, Pitchfork, and NewMusicBox, among other periodicals. He is the author of the 33 1⁄3 book on Aphex Twin’s classic album Selected Ambient Works Volume II. Read more about his sonic consultancy, teaching, sound art, and work in film, comics, and other media

  • Field Notes

    News, essays, surveillance

  • Interviews

    Conversations with musicians/artists/coders

  • Studio Journal

    Video, audio, patch notes

  • Projects

    Select collaborations and commissions

  • Subscribe

  • Current Activities

  • Upcoming
    • December 13, 2022: This day marks the 26th anniversary of the founding of
    • January 6, 2023: This day marked the 11th anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.

  • Recent
    • April 16, 2022: I participated in an online "talk show" by The Big Conversation Space (Niki Korth and Clémence de Montgolfier).
    • March 11, 2022: I hosted a panel discussion between Mark Fell, Rian Treanor and James Bradbury in San Francisco as part of the Algorithmic Art Assembly ( at Gray Area (
    • December 28, 2021: This day marked the 10th (!) anniversary of the Instagr/am/bient compilation.
    • January 6, 2021: This day marked the 10th (!) anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.
    • December 13, 2021: This day marked the 25th (!) anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.
    • There are entries on the Disquiet Junto in the book The Music Production Cookbook: Ready-made Recipes for the Classroom (Oxford University Press), edited by Adam Patrick Bell. Ethan Hein wrote one, and I did, too.
    • A chapter on the Disquiet Junto ("The Disquiet Junto as an Online Community of Practice," by Ethan Hein) appears in the book The Oxford Handbook of Social Media and Music Learning (Oxford University Press), edited by Stephanie Horsley, Janice Waldron, and Kari Veblen. (Details at

  • My book on Aphex Twin's landmark 1994 album, Selected Ambient Works Vol. II, was published as part of the 33 1/3 series, an imprint of Bloomsbury. It has been translated into Japanese (2019) and Spanish (2018).

  • disquiet junto

  • Background
    Since January 2012, the Disquiet Junto has been an ongoing weekly collaborative music-making community that employs creative constraints as a springboard for creativity. Subscribe to the announcement list (each Thursday), listen to tracks by participants from around the world, read the FAQ, and join in.

    Recent Projects

  • 0548 / Drone Vox / The Assignment: Make a drone using just your voice.
    0547 / Genre Melee / Combine two seemingly different genres.
    0546 / Code Notes / The Assignment: Make music that includes a secret message.
    0545 / Unself-Awareness / The Assignment: Learn from feedback intended for others.
    0544 / Feedback Loop / The Assignment: Share music-in-progress for input from others.

  • Full Index
    And there is a complete list of past projects, 548 consecutive weeks to date.

  • Archives

    By month and by topic

  • [email protected]

    [email protected]

  • Downstream

    Recommended listening each weekday

  • Recent Posts