New Disquietude podcast episode: music by Lesley Flanigan, Dave Seidel, KMRU, Celia Hollander, and John Hooper; interview with Flanigan; commentary; short essay on reading waveforms. • F.A.Q.Key Tags: #saw2for33third, #field-recording, #classical, #juntoElsewhere: Twitter, SoundCloud, Instagram

Listening to art. Playing with audio. Sounding out technology. Composing in code. Rewinding the soundscape.

Disquiet Junto Project 0077: Netlabel Splice

The Project: combine music from three different netlabels to create one track.


Each Thursday at the Disquiet Junto group on a new compositional challenge is set before the group’s members, who then have just over four days to upload a track in response to the assignment. Membership in the Junto is open: just join and participate.

This assignment was made in the evening, California time, on Thursday, June 20, with 11:59pm on the following Monday, June 24, 2013, as the deadline.

These are the instructions that went out to the group’s email list (at

Disquiet Junto Project 0077: Netlabel Splice

This is a shared-sample project. Create a single new piece of music by employing the selected material (see below) of each the following three tracks. All three were initially posted to the Internet with a Creative Commons license encouraging derivative reworking. This project — one in an ongoing series of netlabel remixes undertaken by the Disquiet Junto — is intended to address the unfortunate popularity of “ND”(i.e., “no derivatives”) licenses among netlabels. Please only use the following material in your piece; you can transform in any way you choose, but do not introduce any new source material. The music originated on the netlabels tecnonucleo, Split Notes, and Tonstube.

1: The first 30 seconds of “20 200 2000 20000”off the album Sean but not Heard by Sean Archibald:

2: The final 30 seconds of “Aftermath”off the album Transmission by Unicode:

3: From 3:00 to 3:30 of “C2”off the album Cràter by Adrià Bofarull and Joan Saura.

Deadline: Monday, June 24, 2013, at 11:59pm wherever you are.

Length: Your track should have a duration of between two minutes and five minutes.

Information: Please when posting your track on SoundCloud, include a description of your process in planning, composing, and recording it. This description is an essential element of the communicative process inherent in the Disquiet Junto.

Title/Tag: Include the term “disquiet0077-netlabelsplice”in the title of your track, and as a tag for your track.

Download: Due to the nature of these releases, you must employ a license that allows for attributed, commerce-free remixing (i.e., a Creative Commons license permitting non-commercial sharing with attribution).

Linking: When posting the track, be sure to include this information:

More on this 77th Disquiet Junto project, in which the music from three different netlabels was combined to create one track, at:

Disquiet Junto Project 0077: Netlabel Splice

This track is composed from material extracted from three pre-existing tracks: Adrià Bofarull and Joan Saura’s Cráter, Sean Archibald’s Sean but not Heard, and Unicode’s Transmission. More on Adrià Bofarull and Joan Saura’s album at More on Sean Archibald’s album at More on Unicode’s Transmission at

More details on the Disquiet Junto at:

By Marc Weidenbaum

Tags: , , / Leave a comment ]

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Subscribe without commenting