O’Rourke + Haino + 7 Others (MP3)

A dramatic nonet led by cellist Gaspar Claus


The great record label Important Records — which has released recordings by such musicians as Pauline Oliveros, Acid Mothers Temple, Eleh, Ellen Fullman, Eliane Radigue, Matmos, Kid 606, and Merzbow — now has a Tumblr account, at imprec.tumblr.com. The account is so new, having begun this month, that as of this writing there are precisely two posts on it. One is a link to an hour-long streaming drone video on YouTube by Amelia Cuni, Catherine Christer Hennix, and Werner Durand.

And the other, ready for download and repeat listening, is an extravagantly restrained nonet featuring Keiji Haino and Jim O’Rourke, among a heap of equally stellar performers. The lineup is as follows, and the Tumblr post is actually a link to cellist Claus’ johakyu.com site. The work is deeply dramatic, reminiscent of a Heiner Goebbel or Robert Wilson production. The full cast is as follows: Gaspar Claus (cello), Eiko Ishibashi (Voice, Piano), Kazutoki Umezu (bass clarinet), Kakushkin Nishihara (Voice, Satsuma Biwa), SachikoM (Sine waves), Jim O’Rourke (electric guitar), Tomokawa Kazuki ( Voice, Guitar), Keiji Haino (Voice, Rudraveena, Percussion), and Leonard Eto (taiko).

Track downloadable for free at johakyu.com. More on the label at ImportantRecords.com.

One thought on “O’Rourke + Haino + 7 Others (MP3)

  1. I’m always amazed to read “Keiji Haino” and “restrained” in close proximity, but it probably means my listening is out of date; I recall some fascinating acoustic work he did way back, so thanks for this heads-up Mark. I love browsing through the Important catalogue, feeds the fantasy end of my vinyl fetish :)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *