New Disquietude podcast episode: music by Lesley Flanigan, Dave Seidel, KMRU, Celia Hollander, and John Hooper; interview with Flanigan; commentary; short essay on reading waveforms. • F.A.Q.Key Tags: #saw2for33third, #field-recording, #classical, #juntoElsewhere: Twitter, SoundCloud, Instagram

Listening to art. Playing with audio. Sounding out technology. Composing in code. Rewinding the soundscape.

New Eivind Aarset Tracks

Electronically mediated guitar (must proceed to his site to listen).


Eivind Aarset has announced a new album, I.E., due out this month from the label Jazzland. Aarset, a Norwegian who emerged as a player in the band of latter-day fusion trumpeter Nils Petter Molvær, also from Norway, has a deep talent for electronically mediated guitar — not electric guitar as it’s become generally understood, but an electric guitar so filtered through a battery of effects and other tools that it isn’t inherently recognizable as a guitar anymore. Pop fans will recognize timbres from U2’s the Edge, the Police’s Andy Summers, and Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood, who to varying degrees insinuated FM radio with ethereal, echoing, otherworldly atmospheres. Aarset brings those atmospheres to the foreground. The new record features nine tracks, five of which are previewed (either in full or part) at his website, (The streams aren’t currently embeddable, so you’ll have to click through to listen.) Some rock fairly hard, while others, notably “One and the Same” and “Through Clogged Streets, Passed Rotten Buildings,” venture into filmic territory.

Aarset’s band consists of Audun Erlien (bass) and Wetle Holte and Erland Dahlen (drums, percussion, “and a lot of other stuff”). Guests include Jan Bang (“livesampling co-production”); Lorenzo Esposito Fornaseri (vocals on “Through Clogged Streets”); the wind ensemble Det Norske BlÃ¥se; Michele Rabbia (“electronic treatments”); and Jan Galaga Brönnimann (contrabass clarinet). One of the tunes (“Rask,” according to the album’s page) — was mixed by Tchad Blake. Design-watchers will want to know that Ian Anderson of Designers Republic did the album cover.

Tracks originally posted for streaming at News via Michael Ross’, which is a great ongoing source for electronically mediated guitar. More details on the album’s recording process at

By Marc Weidenbaum

Tag: / Leave a comment ]

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Subscribe without commenting

  • about

  • Marc Weidenbaum founded the website in 1996 at the intersection of sound, art, and technology, and since 2012 has moderated the Disquiet Junto, an active online community of weekly music/sonic projects. He has written for Nature, Boing Boing, The Wire, Pitchfork, and NewMusicBox, among other periodicals. He is the author of the 33 1⁄3 book on Aphex Twin’s classic album Selected Ambient Works Volume II. Read more about his sonic consultancy, teaching, sound art, and work in film, comics, and other media

  • Field Notes

    News, essays, surveillance

  • Interviews

    Conversations with musicians/artists/coders

  • Studio Journal

    Video, audio, patch notes

  • Projects

    Select collaborations and commissions

  • Subscribe

  • Current Activities

  • Upcoming
    December 13, 2021: This day marks the 25th anniversary of the founding of
    December 28, 2021: This day marks the 10th anniversary of the Instagr/am/bient compilation.
    January 6, 2021: This day marks the 10th anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.

  • Recent
    July 28, 2021: This day marked the 500th consecutive weekly project in the Disquiet Junto music community.
    There are entries on the Disquiet Junto in the book The Music Production Cookbook: Ready-made Recipes for the Classroom (Oxford University Press), edited by Adam Patrick Bell. Ethan Hein wrote one, and I did, too.
    A chapter on the Disquiet Junto ("The Disquiet Junto as an Online Community of Practice," by Ethan Hein) appears in the book The Oxford Handbook of Social Media and Music Learning (Oxford University Press), edited by Stephanie Horsley, Janice Waldron, and Kari Veblen. (Details at

  • Ongoing
    The Disquiet Junto series of weekly communal music projects explore constraints as a springboard for creativity and productivity. There is a new project each Thursday afternoon (California time), and it is due the following Monday at 11:59pm:

  • My book on Aphex Twin's landmark 1994 album, Selected Ambient Works Vol. II, was published as part of the 33 1/3 series, an imprint of Bloomsbury. It has been translated into Japanese (2019) and Spanish (2018).

  • disquiet junto

  • Background
    Since January 2012, the Disquiet Junto has been an ongoing weekly collaborative music-making community that employs creative constraints as a springboard for creativity. Subscribe to the announcement list (each Thursday), listen to tracks by participants from around the world, read the FAQ, and join in.

    Recent Projects

  • 0511 / Freeze Tag / The Assignment: Consider freezing (and thawing) as a metaphor for music production.
    0510 / Cold Turkey / The Assignment: Record one last track with a piece of music equipment before passing it on.
    0509 / The Long Detail / The Assignment: Create a piece of music with moments from a preexisting track.
    0508 / Germane Shepard / The Assignment: Use the Shepard tone to create a piece of music.
    0507 / In DD's Key of C / The Assignment: Make music with 10 acoustic instrument samples all in a shared key.

    Full Index
    And there is a complete list of past projects, 511 consecutive weeks to date.

  • Archives

    By month and by topic

  • [email protected]

    [email protected]

  • Downstream

    Recommended listening each weekday

  • Recent Posts