Netlabel Release from China’s Bypass (MP3s)

The China-based netlabel Bypass ( presents Noncompliance by Japan-based Mel, who’s previously recorded for Complementary Distribution, Test Tube, and other fine netlabels. Aside from the opening Noncompliance track, “Intro,” which offers free-jazz guitar squonking (credited to Junji) above light synthetic tones (MP3), the five-track album consists entirely of Mel, alone. What follows the anomalous “Intro” is percussive electronica, from a mix of gentle chimes and truncated beats on “Molecular Clock” (MP3) to the film-cue-ready dub-lite of “Steady State” (MP3). The latter track is particularly rewarding, with its momentary breaks for ear-rattling timpani. On each track, Mel displays a penchant for deploying a modest collection of melodic and rhythmic materials in a manner that suggests compositional development without overstating the promise.

[audio:|titles=”Intro”|artists=Mel] [audio:|titles=”Molecular Clock”|artists=Mel] [audio:|titles=”Steady-State”|artists=Mel]

Get the full album at More at Mel’s website,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *