New Disquietude podcast episode: music by Lesley Flanigan, Dave Seidel, KMRU, Celia Hollander, and John Hooper; interview with Flanigan; commentary; short essay on reading waveforms. • F.A.Q.Key Tags: #saw2for33third, #field-recording, #classical, #juntoElsewhere: Twitter, SoundCloud, Instagram

Listening to art. Playing with audio. Sounding out technology. Composing in code. Rewinding the soundscape.

Two Free DJ Shadow MP3s (For 24 Hours)

Time-sensitive free downloads are the new remix contest, the new ubiquitous promotional opportunity. So it was no surprise when an email arrived from offering a pair of free MP3s, albeit only for 24 hours. For several years now, the email missives from DJ Shadow‘s website have been increasingly commercial in intent and content — they’re more likely to be about hoodies than music. So, this free offer was a doubly positive occurrence, even if Shadow’s website for half of today proved to be overburdened by the popularity of the offer. As it turns out, the files aren’t even hosted at — they’re over at, where in exchange for your email address, you’ll get a Zip file containing two songs, “I’ve Been Trying” and “Def Surrounds Us,” both reportedly off his 2011 album, which currently lacks a title.

<a href="">&quot;Def Surrounds Us&quot; b/w &quot;I&#8217;ve Been Trying&quot; by DJ Shadow</a>

The site describes “Def Surrounds Us” as “electro/dubstep/dnb-inspired epic” — and while there remains something a bit awkward about the adoption of the word “dubstep” by musicians, such as Shadow, whose body of work preceded its existence, the use isn’t mistaken here. It’s a heavy, lengthy (almost eight minutes) pop-like track that ultimately, fortunately, is more about collage than it is about song. Its title is a playful mishearing of a bit of found audio with which it opens (“Though we are alive, death surrounds us”), and it proceeds like a beat-intensive suite, from synth handclaps that bring to mind early hip-hop, to video-game triumphalism, to tribal headiness, to a quasi-Gregorian section that suggests what the Enigma catalog will sound like when it’s inevitably resuscitated for a post-Burial/Shackleton audience. What the track may lack in the gloriously messy confusion of Shadow’s early work, it makes up for cinematic narrative surprise.

One note: The timing of the release puts “Def Surrounds Us” right smack in the middle of news that the site where the sounds reside,, will soon begin charging for free downloads — which is to say, Bandcamp will start charging musicians for the opportunity to post free downloads. The news is not entirely surprising (hosting costs money), but it has hit the netlabel community hard, because many labels have been using Bandcamp to host their catalogs. Likely many of them will be moving to as a result.

By Marc Weidenbaum

Tag: / Comments: 2 ]


  1. aboombong
    [ Posted September 13, 2010, at 10:30 pm ]

    I am sure Dj Shadow timed this to get this one in before the freeby limit hits next week (9/16).

  2. Sean Eskimo
    [ Posted September 14, 2010, at 1:19 am ]

    Have to say that Shadow is sounding less and less relevant to me. ‘Def surrounds us’ is listenable enough, but sounds more like a b-grade white-label jungle track circa 1998 than anything too boundary shifting. ‘I’ve been trying’ on the other hand is just strait-up country music to my ears. Blurgh.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Subscribe without commenting

  • about

  • Marc Weidenbaum founded the website in 1996 at the intersection of sound, art, and technology, and since 2012 has moderated the Disquiet Junto, an active online community of weekly music/sonic projects. He has written for Nature, Boing Boing, The Wire, Pitchfork, and NewMusicBox, among other periodicals. He is the author of the 33 1⁄3 book on Aphex Twin’s classic album Selected Ambient Works Volume II. Read more about his sonic consultancy, teaching, sound art, and work in film, comics, and other media

  • Field Notes

    News, essays, surveillance

  • Interviews

    Conversations with musicians/artists/coders

  • Studio Journal

    Video, audio, patch notes

  • Projects

    Select collaborations and commissions

  • Subscribe

  • Current Activities

  • Upcoming
    • December 13, 2022: This day marks the 26th anniversary of the founding of
    • January 6, 2023: This day marked the 11th anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.

  • Recent
    • April 16, 2022: I participated in an online "talk show" by The Big Conversation Space (Niki Korth and Clémence de Montgolfier).
    • March 11, 2022: I hosted a panel discussion between Mark Fell, Rian Treanor and James Bradbury in San Francisco as part of the Algorithmic Art Assembly ( at Gray Area (
    • December 28, 2021: This day marked the 10th (!) anniversary of the Instagr/am/bient compilation.
    • January 6, 2021: This day marked the 10th (!) anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.
    • December 13, 2021: This day marked the 25th (!) anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.
    • There are entries on the Disquiet Junto in the book The Music Production Cookbook: Ready-made Recipes for the Classroom (Oxford University Press), edited by Adam Patrick Bell. Ethan Hein wrote one, and I did, too.
    • A chapter on the Disquiet Junto ("The Disquiet Junto as an Online Community of Practice," by Ethan Hein) appears in the book The Oxford Handbook of Social Media and Music Learning (Oxford University Press), edited by Stephanie Horsley, Janice Waldron, and Kari Veblen. (Details at

  • My book on Aphex Twin's landmark 1994 album, Selected Ambient Works Vol. II, was published as part of the 33 1/3 series, an imprint of Bloomsbury. It has been translated into Japanese (2019) and Spanish (2018).

  • disquiet junto

  • Background
    Since January 2012, the Disquiet Junto has been an ongoing weekly collaborative music-making community that employs creative constraints as a springboard for creativity. Subscribe to the announcement list (each Thursday), listen to tracks by participants from around the world, read the FAQ, and join in.

    Recent Projects

  • 0548 / Drone Vox / The Assignment: Make a drone using just your voice.
    0547 / Genre Melee / Combine two seemingly different genres.
    0546 / Code Notes / The Assignment: Make music that includes a secret message.
    0545 / Unself-Awareness / The Assignment: Learn from feedback intended for others.
    0544 / Feedback Loop / The Assignment: Share music-in-progress for input from others.

  • Full Index
    And there is a complete list of past projects, 548 consecutive weeks to date.

  • Archives

    By month and by topic

  • [email protected]

    [email protected]

  • Downstream

    Recommended listening each weekday

  • Recent Posts