New Disquietude podcast episode: music by Lesley Flanigan, Dave Seidel, KMRU, Celia Hollander, and John Hooper; interview with Flanigan; commentary; short essay on reading waveforms. • F.A.Q.Key Tags: #saw2for33third, #field-recording, #classical, #juntoElsewhere: Twitter, SoundCloud, Instagram

Listening to art. Playing with audio. Sounding out technology. Composing in code. Rewinding the soundscape.

tangents / Lollapalooza, Sinead, Elvis …

Brief Bits: (1) Rockapaloozer Take 2? For a festival that in the past has been a lightning rod for electronic music, the upcoming Los Angeles-vicinity date for All Tomorrow’s Parties is essentially free of bands that don’t have guitars front and center. (Check out the fest’s site,, and survey the latest lineup.) Previous ATP curators have included Autechre and Tortoise. The LA event is curated by cartoonist Matt Groening (The Simpsons, Futurama). The situation parallels the recent Lollapalooza tour, which was oddly rock-heavy (see the Disquiet report, May 9) — speaking of which, someone finally got Lollapalooza founder Perry Farrell to talk about the absence of electronic music on this year’s tour. He told the Salt Lake City Weekly (“Lollapalooza Returns,” August 14): “That’s the one thing that was so hard to do right. This year the tour promoters did not have a good feeling about electronic music. [Moby‘s] Area:One and Area:Two [festival tours] didn’t do well. So I just couldn’t get any money from the promoters for those kind of artists.” The LA ATP concert will take place on November 8 and 9 in Long Beach, California. … (2) According to Rolling Stone, Brian Eno produced three songs on Sinead O’Connor‘s forthcoming covers album, She Who Dwells in the Secret Place of the Most High Shall Abide Under the Shadow of the Almighty (that’s really the title; limited soundclips here): “Do Right Woman,” “Love Hurts” and “No Matter How Hard I Try.” Other electronic-minded folk are credited as well, including Adrian Sherwood, Massive Attack and Asian Dub Foundation. … (3) The Miami Herald (and several other papers) recently ran a piece (here) on an “electronic gizmo” that provides realtime explanations of classical music during performances. It’s called the Concert Companion, and it’s apparently under development by two companies (Tribeworks, Kinoma) and Robert Winter, a music professor at UCLA. …. (4) The magazine Xlr8r ( is celebrating its 10th anniversay. … (5) “Stop, look and listen, baby.” Another Elvis Presley reanimation — that is, remix — is out. Paul Oakenfold has remixed “Rubberneckin’,” following up last year’s hit (“Little Less Conversation,” remixed by Junkie XL). As of August 19, the “Rubberneckin'” video has been streaming on The full album is called Elvis 2nd to None, and it’s due out October 7.

By Marc Weidenbaum

Tags: , / Leave a comment ]

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>


Subscribe without commenting

  • about

  • Marc Weidenbaum founded the website in 1996 at the intersection of sound, art, and technology, and since 2012 has moderated the Disquiet Junto, an active online community of weekly music/sonic projects. He has written for Nature, Boing Boing, The Wire, Pitchfork, and NewMusicBox, among other periodicals. He is the author of the 33 1⁄3 book on Aphex Twin’s classic album Selected Ambient Works Volume II. Read more about his sonic consultancy, teaching, sound art, and work in film, comics, and other media

  • Field Notes

    News, essays, surveillance

  • Interviews

    Conversations with musicians/artists/coders

  • Studio Journal

    Video, audio, patch notes

  • Projects

    Select collaborations and commissions

  • Subscribe

  • Current Activities

  • Upcoming
    • December 13, 2022: This day marks the 26th anniversary of the founding of
    • January 6, 2023: This day marked the 11th anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.

  • Recent
    • April 16, 2022: I participated in an online "talk show" by The Big Conversation Space (Niki Korth and Clémence de Montgolfier).
    • March 11, 2022: I hosted a panel discussion between Mark Fell, Rian Treanor and James Bradbury in San Francisco as part of the Algorithmic Art Assembly ( at Gray Area (
    • December 28, 2021: This day marked the 10th (!) anniversary of the Instagr/am/bient compilation.
    • January 6, 2021: This day marked the 10th (!) anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.
    • December 13, 2021: This day marked the 25th (!) anniversary of the start of the Disquiet Junto music community.
    • There are entries on the Disquiet Junto in the book The Music Production Cookbook: Ready-made Recipes for the Classroom (Oxford University Press), edited by Adam Patrick Bell. Ethan Hein wrote one, and I did, too.
    • A chapter on the Disquiet Junto ("The Disquiet Junto as an Online Community of Practice," by Ethan Hein) appears in the book The Oxford Handbook of Social Media and Music Learning (Oxford University Press), edited by Stephanie Horsley, Janice Waldron, and Kari Veblen. (Details at

  • My book on Aphex Twin's landmark 1994 album, Selected Ambient Works Vol. II, was published as part of the 33 1/3 series, an imprint of Bloomsbury. It has been translated into Japanese (2019) and Spanish (2018).

  • disquiet junto

  • Background
    Since January 2012, the Disquiet Junto has been an ongoing weekly collaborative music-making community that employs creative constraints as a springboard for creativity. Subscribe to the announcement list (each Thursday), listen to tracks by participants from around the world, read the FAQ, and join in.

    Recent Projects

  • 0544 / Feedback Loop / The Assignment: Share music-in-progress for input from others.
    0543 / Technique Check / The Assignment: Share a tip from your method toolbox.
    0542 / 2600 Club / The Assignment: Make some phreaking music.
    0541 / 10BPM Techno / The Assignment: Make some snail-paced beats.
    0540 / 5ive 4our / The Assignment: Take back 5/4 for Jedi time masters Dave Brubeck and Paul Desmond.

  • Full Index
    And there is a complete list of past projects, 544 consecutive weeks to date.

  • Archives

    By month and by topic

  • [email protected]

    [email protected]

  • Downstream

    Recommended listening each weekday

  • Recent Posts